Mother Dearest

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

As an assignment, I had to create a photo essay using at least 10 photos that capture the essence of a place, a time, or a relationship. I had a couple of ideas but after some consideration, I chose to photograph the relationship my mother and I share. Not because it would be the easiest thing to do since I live with her, but because she’s one of the greatest things in my life.

At first we tried to do some posed photographs, but we deleted all of them because they were ridiculous. The only picture that survived from that set isn’t even of us, but of my laptop (we were watching Glee and she loves Chris Colfer) and her phone (she also loves playing Candy Crush). Every night, no matter how tired we are, she joins me in my room and I watch a movie as she plays on her phone.

The three pictures that follow are slightly posed, but we started laughing and they turned out to be a bigger mess than we expected. The picture that follows those is of my mom once we gave up and she decided it was time for a nap–it was around 12:30am.

The pictures of her in the car were taken after a moment of shame. She asked me where her sunglasses were and I, being the obedient daughter I am, proceeded to look for her sunglasses. It only took me a couple seconds to look up and notice them on her head. I told her and she covered in her face in shame as I laughed.

That same day, I went to work with her. She was on the phone with my cousin when I was trying to get her attention. She was multitasking–eating, gossiping, writing. I took the opportunity and captured her in her natural space. She’s at her best when she has a lot going on at once.

On the way home, we decided to stop by Target. If I’m singing and dancing in the front seat, I always hold her hand in the car. It makes me feel safe and closer to her.

While walking out of the store and towards the car, I started dancing. Seeing as we do everything together, she started to dance with me in a more uncoordinated way. Having nothing to lose, I followed her and took pictures of the wonderful show that is my mother.

The final two pictures were taken Friday night. She was finishing some chores; I was acting as a DJ at the computer. She was singing and enjoying herself. Once she noticed I was taking pictures of her, she stuck her tongue out at me and told me to stop.

My mom is my greatest friend. She knows everything about me and more. If we’re not together then we’re texting each other “I love you” or simply “Hi”–a habit we formed to know we’re both alive according to her.

One thought on “Mother Dearest

  1. What a cool assignment! Love it. What a great relationship you have with your mum. Was wondering if you’d be interested in letting me include some of your words and thoughts about your mum in a book I’m working on? It’s a tribute to mothers. Your name, age and country will be included or you can be anonymous. Feel free to email for more info: wordslikesilk@gmail.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

